The Healthy Well

Spiritual, Mental, and Physical Refreshment: Grab a Cup

My Friend is a Loser (and why it makes me smile to think about it)


Do you think you could cover for me?  I’m not sure how long I’ll be gone.  It could be anywhere from 2 weeks, 2 months, or until the end of the semester.

“What on earth?”  I couldn’t imagine what was going on.  There was only one thing that crossed my mind: his health.

I first met Mr. A last school year when I had the opportunity to work with him at school.  He’s a fairly  young man, probably in his early 30’s, but is extreeemely obese.  I worried about his raspy breathing, his aching back, and his knees.

Finally, we connected.  I was waiting to hear the worse.  When he told me that he was selected to be a contestant for the television show The Biggest Loser, all I could say was “No Way!”  I was speechless.   More than anything, I want Mr. A to be successful.  He and his wife have a beautiful one year old daughter.  He needs to see her grow up.

It’s been almost two weeks since Mr. A shared his wonderful news.  My smile is settling deep inside, but when I think about Mr. A’s wonderful opportunity, it springs into action and widens across my face.

Emotions are tricky things.  They are contagious.  They last far beyond the initial event or circumstance.  Over time, emotions gently settle like dust deep inside our souls.  We must be careful to sift out the chaff of bitterness and cling to those that bring joy and happiness.

Enhanced by Zemanta
No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

