The Healthy Well

Spiritual, Mental, and Physical Refreshment: Grab a Cup

Leaving the Past Behind; Looking to What’s Before You


Any exercise other than Yoga has not been on my agenda since breaking my leg last May.  Although I’m now able to walk  without support, I have to take my time and I can’t stay on it for very long.  In spite of this, I felt it was time to leave the past behind and head back to the fitness center.

My foot is still a bit stiff and does not have a natural roll to it.  I was expecting physical therapy after the doctor removed my boot.  My ankle and lower leg still swell at times.  When I asked him about icing it, he simply suggested that I do foot and ankle exercises.  Evidently, this type of exercise decreases the swelling.  I was pleased not to have to undergo physical therapy.

I thought if I got on the treadmill, I might be able to strengthen my foot.   The digital window read 2.4 mph.  That’s a long way from my usual 3.5.

I held onto the hand rails and could feel the weakness in my lower right leg.  It took me 15 minutes to walk less than 1/4 of a mile.  I did as much as I could without aggravating it to the point that I’d be babying it again.

For the next 30 minutes, I worked out on the machines.  It’s amazing how much atrophy takes place with a broken bone.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

