The Healthy Well

Spiritual, Mental, and Physical Refreshment: Grab a Cup

Brown Rice Salad


My Aussie friend, Sam  just put up a new foodie blog.  I told her I would give her dishes “”a go” and report back.  Here’s my picture coupled with her recipe.

Brown Rice Salad

INGREDIENTS

1 Cup Brown Rice

2 Chicken Stock Cubes

100 g  Walnuts (Crushed)

420 g Can Corn Kernels

432 g Can Crushed Pineapple

250 g Can Diced Capsicum (peppers)

30 ml Soy Sauce

30 ml White Vinegar

30 ml Lemon Juice

METHOD

Place rice in pot and cover with salted water. Soak for 2 hours. Drain the rice and rinse with cold water.  Add 325 ml of water to the rice. Crush stock cubes into the pot. Place over heat and bring to the boil. Lower heat and simmer until the rice has absorbed all the water. Stir rice occasionally with a fork while it is cooking.

Put the rice a large mixing bowl.  Drain the  capsicum, corn kernels and pineapple and add to the bowl with the crushed walnuts. Combine well with rice.

In a small bowl combine Soy Sauce, White Vinegar and Lemon Juice. Pour this dressing over the rice salad and mix thoroughly.

My Results ******

Now, I have to admit that I had to google capsicum.  Then, I wasn’t exactly sure which type of pepper was best to use.  Normally, I like using finely chopped jalapenos to give just enough bite.  My husband opted for a different type of pepper which was hot, but didn’t have the flavor I wanted.  As for measurement conversion, I just looked on the ingredients cans which clearly stated both metric and our standard measurement.  I also forgot to soak the rice in salt water, probably because that’s not normally something I would do.  I also added some orange bell pepper for color and omitted the walnuts.  I’m going to have to play around a bit with the dressing in order to get it exactly as I want it.  Overall, it was a tasty side dish for my skewered scallops and shrimp done on the “bar-b”.

Thanks, Sam!

2 Comments»

  Sam wrote @

Thanks for giving it a go, Shelley! I love the photo – you dressed the dish up much nicer than me! Play around till your heart’s content. Recipes were not meant to be followed – they were meant to be altered! Good on ya, mate!

  Shelley wrote @

I look forward to trying more of your “Grub”!


Leave a Reply

