The Healthy Well

Spiritual, Mental, and Physical Refreshment: Grab a Cup

Putting My Best Foot Forward


Life has taken a very different course for me over the last several weeks.  What started out as an innocent trip with my husband to Virginia, has become somewhat of a set back: far from what a “foot loose and fancy” summer ought to be.  (Read about my D.C. excursion, here.) I’m doing my best to take it all in stride and accomplish as much as physically possible.  Perhaps breaking my leg isn’t so terribly bad.  It certainly made me realize several things.

The first thing that I’ve been saying to myself (for at least 15 years) is this weight has got to go!  Getting my first set of crutches made me come face to face with myself.  I could barely hobble but a few feet.  I was so out of breath.  It was embarrassing, to say the least.  (I could claim age, but I didn’t want to go there.)  Gravity was winning fast.

Of course, with the weight gain came lack of upper body strength.  Walking on crutches is an art form.  You have to lock your elbows and wrists making sure you do not place any weight on your armpits.  Evidently, there are nerves located there that can be damaged.  Reality had set in.

I’m proud to announce that after two weeks, I can manage a fair distance on my crutches.  I can even come down stairs quite nicely.  I don’t think I’ve lost any weight, but my upper body strength has improved.  In fact, I’m quite mobile.  I manage my little raised bed garden each morning, and a bit (very little bit) of housework.  That can take a back seat, but the garden cannot.  I even manage 30 minutes of Pilates each day.  I try to do my best to stay active in spite of my current situation.

Having said all of that, this may be the best time to be involved in a weight loss challenge.  I peaked in now and then at the last session the Plus Size Bloggers had.  I even attended one of the webinars.  It seemed like everyone was having a good time.  I certainly enjoyed reading the different blogs.  One thing I know, for sure, is there is a level of accountability that I need.

So, here’s to the next 15.

Enhanced by Zemanta
No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

